Mother’s Day Dedication

I had a plan… Yes, another one. Well, this one has actually been in the works for a while. It was a website. Specifically, it was a parenting website. I was so serious about it that I purchased the domain 15 months ago … And subsequently did nothing with it.

Well, not completely nothing. I have been storing up parenting posts, which is why I haven’t posted much on parenting lately on my other blog. I have been saving them up for the time I would finally launch my site.

So yesterday (yes, always last minute) I thought of a Mother’s Day gift for my mother: launch the parenting site, and dedicate it to Mom.

Of course, I didn’t factor in technical difficulties (a.k.a. personal lack of knowledge in troubleshooting web design issues). I spent hours yesterday with one attempt after another, only to wind up extremely frustrated.

I chatted with a friend who is a web designer and after lots of back and forth (thanks, Arthur) and considering different options, I would like to present my “positive parenting” blog! Yes… yet another blog. Enjoy, and please join our page on Facebook (positive parenting)!

Now, background aside, it’s time for my Mother’s Day dedication.

Grandmother reading book to granddaughter

Mom, reading to Jessica, who was two at the time

I think the greatest thing about my mom was that she was a mom. We were her “career”. I can’t remember how many times Mom said that what she always wanted most was to be a mother and to have kids. We were her primary focus and her first priority. Home-schooling six children could not have been an easy feat, but she did it, and so well that while we were growing up, many of our peers would comment on our general knowledge or our vocabulary (“I didn’t know that was a word!”). It wasn’t all textbook education. Everything was a learning experience so that I often didn’t even know I was “being educated”. It was just absorbed as a part of daily life.

Sometimes one of us would say something and mom would say, “You kids are so smart!” sincerely surprised, as if she had nothing to do with it.

“You told me that, mom.”

“I did?”

Learning was just part of everyday life.

Another thing she said often was children are little people. In other words, you can’t treat kids like some lesser form of humanity just because they are smaller and younger, and sometimes annoying or a handful. She lived that saying too. She treated us as “real” people. Maybe my opinion wasn’t heard that often with six of us siblings all vying to be heard, but I know it was respected and understood. I was never belittled with sarcasm or contempt.

Today, as a mother of three (I’m halfway there, mom!) I sometimes compare my parenting to hers. I’ll ask her a question about how she would deal with a certain type of behavioral issue and she’ll say, “You guys were just such good kids.” I know that wasn’t always the case.

Mom was just a mom. When we made mistakes or had issues, she would treat them as little hiccups in the overall scope of life.

If there was one parenting attribute I could develop more, (well, there are actually a lot of things I could work at, but this is a very important one) it would be emphasizing the positive, in situations, in life overall, and especially in my children. There is just so much good in our children, and so many great attributed that can be honed, skills and talents and interests that can be developed.

My kids, your kids, our kids deserve the best! And the best we can give them is positive parents who help them develop into well-rounded, successful and happy individuals.

Happy Mother’s Day to all you amazing mothers, a big hand to all you great fathers too… and a special thank you to my mother, to whom I dedicate this positive parenting blog. I love you, Mom!

About Bonita Jewel

Bonita Jewel is an author and blogger who writes on a variety of themes, including: Literature & poetry https://danielandbonita.wordpress.com Writing https://awordfitlywritten.wordpress.com Parenting https://positiveparentingblog.wordpress.com Purpose https://apurposedlife.wordpress.com After living in India from the age of 16 to 28, she returned to California with her husband and three children. She is pursuing a Degree at Fresno State University. Bonita teaches community education at Clovis Adult. Her courses include Blogging Basics, Power Editing, Creative Writing, and Working from Home. She also freelances as an editor, ghostwriter, and writing coach. Her greatest passions are her family, her faith, writing, and reading. Bonita Jewel has been reading since she was 2 ½. Thirty years later, she still loves the magic and mystery of the written word. She is slowly breathing life into roughly 50 novels and nearly as many nonfiction works, depending on which plot or character seizes her interest at any given time. Please connect with Bonita at: https://www.facebook.com/BonitaJewelAuthor

Posted on May 8, 2011, in Education, Special Days and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. So sweet that you dedicated this to your mom. I like you’re writings alot. Keep them coming.

  2. My kids are so smart! A web site! Can’t take credit for teaching that one! Thank you, Honey, for the sweet words and dedication. It’s humbling and made me cry. Kids are the best. And mine were/are such a joy. I knew one day you’d be grown. There were times I would watch you kids doing your things, and I tried to imprint moments into my mind because I knew it wouldn’t last forever. Well, the memory is failing somewhat, but the imprints on my heart will never fade.

Leave a Reply

