For the Eyes of a Child

leafless winter treesThe winter day dawned gray and cold. The wind only added a chill to the cheerless landscape.

I needed to feed the birds in the patio birdcages and give them fresh water, a task I hoped to accomplish as quickly as possible, so that I could retreat into the comfort of the warm house.

My son Aiden had other thoughts. He followed me, babbling away about the birds, the garden—which I thought looked rather forlorn sleeping under its cloak of winter grey.

“Swing, Mommy?” My two-year-old looked at me with anticipation.

“It’s cold, Aiden. Mommy wants to go inside.”

Either he didn’t hear me or he didn’t take that as a “no”. He meandered toward the swing seat situated against the backyard fence. I followed him, pulling my sweater more tightly around me.

As I sat down, he clambered on top of my lap and sat in silence. At least his presence served as a natural heater. He was so quite that I thought for a moment that he was going to fall asleep.

“Mommy,” he suddenly broke the silence, “the trees giving loves.”

I wasn’t sure what he meant. I looked at the trees from the porch swing where we were sitting. I didn’t notice anything spectacular. Most of them stood starkly, lacking leaves and color.

I followed his gaze to two palm trees, growing beyond our house, reaching high toward the sky. Their green fronds contrasted the drab sky. They flittered, almost like fingers waving cheerfully down to us.

palm trees against a winter sky“Who are they giving love to?” I asked him.

“Everybodies,” was the instant response.

Where I had seen nothing but a cold and lifeless day, my son had looked up and found life … and love.

Oh, for the eyes of a child.

About Bonita Jewel

Bonita Jewel is an author and blogger who writes on a variety of themes, including: Literature & poetry https://danielandbonita.wordpress.com Writing https://awordfitlywritten.wordpress.com Parenting https://positiveparentingblog.wordpress.com Purpose https://apurposedlife.wordpress.com After living in India from the age of 16 to 28, she returned to California with her husband and three children. She is pursuing a Degree at Fresno State University. Bonita teaches community education at Clovis Adult. Her courses include Blogging Basics, Power Editing, Creative Writing, and Working from Home. She also freelances as an editor, ghostwriter, and writing coach. Her greatest passions are her family, her faith, writing, and reading. Bonita Jewel has been reading since she was 2 ½. Thirty years later, she still loves the magic and mystery of the written word. She is slowly breathing life into roughly 50 novels and nearly as many nonfiction works, depending on which plot or character seizes her interest at any given time. Please connect with Bonita at: https://www.facebook.com/BonitaJewelAuthor

Posted on March 5, 2012, in Attributes, Life Lessons, Paying attention, Perception and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This was so beautiful! I read it three times!! Thank u so much for posting! Xx!

  2. These are the treasures of which among many, make for many jewels of joy in the heart. So glad, your little guy gave one of them jewels to you, today! Wonderful post!

  3. I think the one lesson I have learned is that there is no substitute for paying attention.~Diane Sawyer obtained from Attention quotes

Leave a Reply

