Children: an Inspiration, or a Responsibility?

Mom and Daughter Playing in ParkIf I were to ask you, a parent, “What is the most important thing in your life?” your answer would probably be the same as mine: “My children.”

If I asked you why you worked or did your main daily activities—cooking, cleaning and laundry, and the multitude of mundane tasks, your answer would probably be, “For my kids.”

My schedule, my very life, would be vastly different if it wasn’t for my kids . . . obviously. When asked to think about a driving purpose in much that we do, the answer of any parent is most likely going to be, “It’s for my children, my family.”

Now I want to ask a question, one that might not be that easy to answer, at least, it wasn’t easy for me to answer when I asked myself.

Do your children know how important they are to you?

If you were to tell them, “You’re one of my main motivations, the primary reason for why I do what I do,” would they be surprised, or would they say, “I already know that?”

And if they do know, how does that information come to them?

“The only reason I have to work so hard is because of you . . . so you better be grateful.”

Or

“I love you so much that I am happy to do everything I do, because I want you to be able to have all that you need and to know that you are loved.”

Are your children your inspiration, or your responsibility?

We know we love them, but do they?

If you only manage to do one thing today, make sure it’s that you’ve told your kids that you love them, and are happy they are in your life. Put it at the top of your to-do list, today and every day.

About Bonita Jewel

Bonita Jewel is an author and blogger who writes on a variety of themes, including: Literature & poetry https://danielandbonita.wordpress.com Writing https://awordfitlywritten.wordpress.com Parenting https://positiveparentingblog.wordpress.com Purpose https://apurposedlife.wordpress.com After living in India from the age of 16 to 28, she returned to California with her husband and three children. She is pursuing a Degree at Fresno State University. Bonita teaches community education at Clovis Adult. Her courses include Blogging Basics, Power Editing, Creative Writing, and Working from Home. She also freelances as an editor, ghostwriter, and writing coach. Her greatest passions are her family, her faith, writing, and reading. Bonita Jewel has been reading since she was 2 ½. Thirty years later, she still loves the magic and mystery of the written word. She is slowly breathing life into roughly 50 novels and nearly as many nonfiction works, depending on which plot or character seizes her interest at any given time. Please connect with Bonita at: https://www.facebook.com/BonitaJewelAuthor

Posted on June 5, 2012, in Attributes, Life Lessons, Perception and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

