Fun and Food on the Fourth

I glanced at the clock.

10:00 am

Guests would be coming somewhere between two and three in the afternoon, for swimming and celebrating July 4th. In the meantime, I needed to clean the house and prepare the food.

My daughter had volunteered to help with the dusting, so after we read a story together, I told her where the dusting cloths were as I headed to the kitchen.

Nine peeled potatoes later, I went to check on her.

She reclined on the couch, an open book in her hands.

“Did you dust yet?” I asked, completely aware of her response.

She looked up at me, a little worried. “No.”

I clenched my teeth, trying not to get annoyed. Doesn’t she realize we don’t have all day?

“What are you waiting for?”

“You.” She smiled.

“I’m not dusting with you. I’m working in the kitchen. I have food to prepare.”

She sat forward. Her eyes lit up. “You are?”

I groaned inwardly. I had been planning to do some baking with my daughter over the summer, but not today.

Today I was on a deadline.

Today the food needed to taste good.

It just wasn’t the opportune time to be cooking with a child.

Hold on! What on earth was I thinking?

What’s more important? To make the perfect dinner, or to enjoy creating something with my daughter?Jessica making potato salad

The answer was obvious.

“I was in the middle of making potato salad. It needs to get in the fridge early so it can get cold before the afternoon. Want to help?”

“Sure!” She jumped up, forgetting about her book for the moment as she eagerly followed me into the kitchen.

We finished making the potato salad together.

“Is there anything else to do?”

I had been hemming and hawing about whether or not to attempt a dessert. Why not?

“You want to make a pie with me?”

“Really?” When seeing the excitement in her eyes at such a simple thing, I wondered why I hadn’t done this earlier.

After placing the pie in the fridge, she went on to dust while I washed the dishes. She even asked me for Windex and started washing the glass door leading to the balcony.

By the way, the food wasn’t just good. It was perfect.

It had been created with love – the most important ingredient for anything in life.Jessica making lemon tart fruit pie

About Bonita Jewel

Bonita Jewel is an author and blogger who writes on a variety of themes, including: Literature & poetry https://danielandbonita.wordpress.com Writing https://awordfitlywritten.wordpress.com Parenting https://positiveparentingblog.wordpress.com Purpose https://apurposedlife.wordpress.com After living in India from the age of 16 to 28, she returned to California with her husband and three children. She is pursuing a Degree at Fresno State University. Bonita teaches community education at Clovis Adult. Her courses include Blogging Basics, Power Editing, Creative Writing, and Working from Home. She also freelances as an editor, ghostwriter, and writing coach. Her greatest passions are her family, her faith, writing, and reading. Bonita Jewel has been reading since she was 2 ½. Thirty years later, she still loves the magic and mystery of the written word. She is slowly breathing life into roughly 50 novels and nearly as many nonfiction works, depending on which plot or character seizes her interest at any given time. Please connect with Bonita at: https://www.facebook.com/BonitaJewelAuthor

Posted on July 6, 2012, in Attributes, Life Lessons, Patience, Priorities, Special Days and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. As a dad, baking with my son, was a great tool to engage my son with.

    • That’s very true. One of my children, who doesn’t so readily volunteer information, will start talking non-stop when we work together side by side cooking. It’s a great opportunity for parents to find out what’s happening in their children’s lives, and teach them a practical skill at the same time.

Leave a Reply

