Our Hope for a Better Tomorrow

rest in peace, names of school shooting victimsAs I prayed with my children last night, before I realized it, I had begun to pray for the families of those who died at Sandy Hook Elementary School yesterday. I hadn’t spoken of it to my children, so once the prayer was over, my older children both asked what had happened.

I had kept the prayer very vague, so told them, “Something happened at a school today and some children got hurt.”

My husband added, “A few of them went to be with Jesus.”

I finished, “I was praying for their families because they are very sad, especially this being Christmas time, which is usually a happy time for families.”

My son, who is six years old, took a deep and shaky breath.

“Is everything okay?” I asked him.

He nodded but his eyes looked troubled.

“What is it?”

His voice shook as he said, with tearful eyes, “I’m sad for the families who lost their children at Christmas time.”

When I saw the tears in my son’s eyes, I couldn’t help but hold him tightly and tell him everything was going to be okay. I held out my arms and he came close for a hug. My daughter joined us.

I held them close as I said, “Don’t worry. Those children are now in a wonderful place. They’re having their first Christmas in Heaven and they’re in a place where they will never be hurt or sad again. We just need to pray for their families, because it’s sometimes hard to think of them in Heaven when they’re used to them being with them, on earth.”

My son nodded and headed off to his bed, comforted at the assurance. I was touched at this glimpse of my son’s heart, and so grateful for the blessing of each of my precious children.

Today, I read a number of comments from parents who held their children a little more tightly yesterday, and yes, I did too. And I think I should more often.

Hold your children tightly, every day.

Hug them. Love them. Share with them your hopes, prayers and every part of your life that you can. Let them know they are loved, accepted, and cherished.

Children give us such joy today. And they are our hope for a better tomorrow.

And in your prayers, please remember the names above, and for their parents, families and loved ones. Share the message that they will not be forgotten. Honor their memories by loving your own children more than ever, and raising them to believe that love will conquer hate, to live for a peace that will overcome strife, and to never give up believing in a better tomorrow. One day all they have dreamed will come to stay, always.

About Bonita Jewel

Bonita Jewel is an author and blogger who writes on a variety of themes, including: Literature & poetry https://danielandbonita.wordpress.com Writing https://awordfitlywritten.wordpress.com Parenting https://positiveparentingblog.wordpress.com Purpose https://apurposedlife.wordpress.com After living in India from the age of 16 to 28, she returned to California with her husband and three children. She is pursuing a Degree at Fresno State University. Bonita teaches community education at Clovis Adult. Her courses include Blogging Basics, Power Editing, Creative Writing, and Working from Home. She also freelances as an editor, ghostwriter, and writing coach. Her greatest passions are her family, her faith, writing, and reading. Bonita Jewel has been reading since she was 2 ½. Thirty years later, she still loves the magic and mystery of the written word. She is slowly breathing life into roughly 50 novels and nearly as many nonfiction works, depending on which plot or character seizes her interest at any given time. Please connect with Bonita at: https://www.facebook.com/BonitaJewelAuthor

Posted on December 15, 2012, in Praying and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I know I held mine extra yesterday, too. Been praying for the families and children left behind. I think making it a habit to hold our children every day, to let them know how much they are loved is so incredibly important. We can’t protect them from everything, but we can make sure they know for sure they are loved. I know I wouldn’t want any regrets there.

Leave a Reply

