Letter to the Tooth Fairy

To The Tooth FairyYesterday while I was working at my little “office space” in the family room, my daughter walked up to me, talking strangely. It sounded like she had a mouthful of stones. It was actually a single loose tooth.

“I didot e’en know da toof wazh loosh,” she told me. (Translation: “I didn’t even know the tooth was loose.”

Less than five minutes later, she bounded up, molar in hand. “Look, it fell out so quickly! It wasn’t even loose yesterday and now it came out. It must be some kind of record.” She was thrilled.

Later that evening, she brought me a pink piece of paper, folded in half. The front read:

To the Tooth Fairy

Address Fairy Land or Pixie Hollow

She had written:

Dear Tooth Fairy,

I heard you like the color pink and you like Fairy Tales. I hope this is true because that is what I designed this as.

I got a loose tooth and lost it in only 5 minutes. It was so fast that I thought that you did not notice it so that is why I sent you this letter.

She placed it under her pillow, along with her tooth. For the record, my kids don’t believe in the tooth fairy. They know that I am the “tooth fairy” and not a very good one at that. There have been times they’ve put their tiny teeth under their pillows at night, dove under them first thing in the morning, and found nothing. I would cringe, tell them that the “tooth fairy” sent me a text message saying she would be late, and to look under their pillow in about five minutes. They never seemed to mind the delay; it was all part of the fun.

When my daughter looked under her pillow in the morning, she found a few coins, as well as a note in reply. I’m not sure exactly what the note said, something Jessica told me she had to keep a secret, because that’s what the tooth fairy told her to do.

Watching kids pretend is a lot of fun. Joining them in their magical world of make-believe at times is even better. It reminds me that not to long ago I was looking for fairy rings and wishing with all my heart I could see just one glimpse of something magical and other-worldly.

The funny thing is, I see a glimpse of that magic every day — in my children’s eyes and in their smiles, in the way they interact and play, in the things they learn and the questions they ask, in the great ideas they have and the joy that bubbles over in their actions.

Every child is a precious soul that has been entrusted to our care . . . otherworldly, yet with potential to change this world for the better, if we believe in them and teach them to believe in themselves and in a God who will always love them and guide them every step of the way.

About Bonita Jewel

Bonita Jewel is an author and blogger who writes on a variety of themes, including: Literature & poetry https://danielandbonita.wordpress.com Writing https://awordfitlywritten.wordpress.com Parenting https://positiveparentingblog.wordpress.com Purpose https://apurposedlife.wordpress.com After living in India from the age of 16 to 28, she returned to California with her husband and three children. She is pursuing a Degree at Fresno State University. Bonita teaches community education at Clovis Adult. Her courses include Blogging Basics, Power Editing, Creative Writing, and Working from Home. She also freelances as an editor, ghostwriter, and writing coach. Her greatest passions are her family, her faith, writing, and reading. Bonita Jewel has been reading since she was 2 ½. Thirty years later, she still loves the magic and mystery of the written word. She is slowly breathing life into roughly 50 novels and nearly as many nonfiction works, depending on which plot or character seizes her interest at any given time. Please connect with Bonita at: https://www.facebook.com/BonitaJewelAuthor

Posted on July 31, 2013, in Attributes, Life Lessons, Paying attention, Perception and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

