How She Does It – Mother’s Day Contest Entry

CharlotteHow She Does It

By Charlotte Storm

“How does she stay so calm?” I have mentally asked myself this question plenty of times. While I am hyperventilating, she still manages to act like a normal human being.

My brother is a hyperactive package of heart-attacks-waiting-to-happen wrapped up in a wiry, lanky kid. When he was three, he climbed on top of our car; just a few months ago he fell into a river, a deeper-than-he-can-stand-in river, but he picked flowers for her to try and compensate for the fact that he was soaked, so that made it all okay.

I don’t know how she is still sane; I still get all hyped up when he smashes something or does something COMPLETELY INSANE, but somehow she knows how to handle it.

I am convinced that my mom is a superhero. I mean, how else could she deal with my brother, sister, and me? I (for one) know very well that I am an extremely difficult person. What with my mood swings, constant nagging, and paranoid personality, I can hardly stand to be around myself, so I don’t know how she does it.  And besides that, she manages to single-handedly run this circus show that we call our house.

Like all teenagers, I can’t wait to move out. I want my freedom and my space. But when I really think about life without my mom (aka cook, laundry lady, cleaner, therapist, psychiatrist, and counselor), it gives me a headache. It’s hard to wrap my mind around the fact that the fridge won’t refill itself, the laundry won’t wash itself, and the house won’t clean itself, unless I actually do all of it—myself!

It’s a horrifying thought, and it leads me into thinking things like: “Why grow up at all?” or “Living with your mom your whole life doesn’t sound THAT bad.”

I have a little nervous breakdown when the store runs out of my favorite chips and I have to actually make a decision! Good thing I still have a while to learn about the big, bad world.

I’d like to let all you mothers know that there is kid over here who thinks you are incredible. I really don’t think I could ever handle the stuff you go through; the responsibility or stress and the list goes on and on. It really amazes me how you can turn a house into a home, crying into laughter, and take care of us little bundles of trouble.

Happy Mother’s Day.

 

About Charlotte Storm: My name is Charlotte and I’m 15 years old. I love to write and create my own little worlds in my head. My crazy family is often the fuel for my writing and my inspiration.

[Like this story on our Facebook page to help the author win Positive Parenting’s Mother’s Day Writing Contest! (You’re welcome to “like” it here too! :)]

About Bonita Jewel

Bonita Jewel is an author and blogger who writes on a variety of themes, including: Literature & poetry https://danielandbonita.wordpress.com Writing https://awordfitlywritten.wordpress.com Parenting https://positiveparentingblog.wordpress.com Purpose https://apurposedlife.wordpress.com After living in India from the age of 16 to 28, she returned to California with her husband and three children. She is pursuing a Degree at Fresno State University. Bonita teaches community education at Clovis Adult. Her courses include Blogging Basics, Power Editing, Creative Writing, and Working from Home. She also freelances as an editor, ghostwriter, and writing coach. Her greatest passions are her family, her faith, writing, and reading. Bonita Jewel has been reading since she was 2 ½. Thirty years later, she still loves the magic and mystery of the written word. She is slowly breathing life into roughly 50 novels and nearly as many nonfiction works, depending on which plot or character seizes her interest at any given time. Please connect with Bonita at: https://www.facebook.com/BonitaJewelAuthor

Posted on May 2, 2014, in Mother's Day, Siblings, Writing Contest and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

