My Mother’s Love is Priceless – Mother’s Day Contest Entry

My Mother’s Love is Priceless

By Surunda Franklin

Someone special to me is my mother.  I am the firstborn of six siblings.  My mother told me that she wanted two children and my father wanted four; they both got what they asked for.

When I was eleven years old, I began having excruciating headaches.  She took me to see many doctors trying to get me help but no one knew what was wrong with me.  Some said, “Maybe it is her eyes,” and others said, “It might be her menstrual cycle beginning.” One doctor suggested seeing a neurologist at Semmes Murphy Clinic.  The doctor ran many tests and found nothing.

He told my mother there was one other test he could do but it was life threatening.  My mother and father discussed the situation and spoke to a minister. They took his words and had the procedure done.

When the doctor received the results, he told my parents that I had a pituitary tumor and it was mandatory that I have surgery.  During the surgery, part of my pituitary had to be removed.  The operation went fine; afterward, I had many doctor visits and cobalt radiation treatments.

On one of my doctor visits to remove my stitches, my mother mentioned to the nurse that it looks like she missed a stitch. The nurse told her it was only the scar of healing skin. My mother continued to watch the area on my head and noticed it was not healing and that it was sore to the touch.  She immediately took me back to the doctor.

The doctor examined my head and said that a stitch had been left and it was under the skin and need to be removed.  A nurse came in and proceeded to remove the stitch. It was so very painful, I could hardly keep still.

My mother held my hand and I squeezed hers. The stitch was out before I knew it.

Months passed and it was time for another checkup. When the doctor was examining my head, he noticed the place where the stitch was had still not healed.  Many procedures were done to examine my head. When the doctor got the results back, he told my mother that I would have to have surgery to remove the bone from my head because it had become infected.

My mother came to me and said, “Your father and I love you. It is going to be okay.” I held onto those words as I went through another surgery and the bone on the left side of my forehead was removed. A metal plate was put in place of the missing bone. It was defected and not long afterward, I had to have surgery again.

Through these frightening and life-threatening issues, my mother was with me every day.  She told me many times, “I love you and I will not leave you.”

After going through many surgeries and treatments, I am alive today thanks to GOD and my mother loving me and determining to keep me alive.  That is why my mother’s love is priceless.

 

About Surunda Franklin: I am a devoted homemaker with four beautiful stepchildren and a great husband.  I live in Jackson, TN, and have lived here all my life.  I am five feet, with light brown skin, and long black hair.  I got married for the first time in February of 2013 and I am enjoying life.

[Like this story on our Facebook page to help the author win Positive Parenting’s Mother’s Day Writing Contest! (You’re welcome to “like” it here too! :)]

About Bonita Jewel

Bonita Jewel is an author and blogger who writes on a variety of themes, including: Literature & poetry https://danielandbonita.wordpress.com Writing https://awordfitlywritten.wordpress.com Parenting https://positiveparentingblog.wordpress.com Purpose https://apurposedlife.wordpress.com After living in India from the age of 16 to 28, she returned to California with her husband and three children. She is pursuing a Degree at Fresno State University. Bonita teaches community education at Clovis Adult. Her courses include Blogging Basics, Power Editing, Creative Writing, and Working from Home. She also freelances as an editor, ghostwriter, and writing coach. Her greatest passions are her family, her faith, writing, and reading. Bonita Jewel has been reading since she was 2 ½. Thirty years later, she still loves the magic and mystery of the written word. She is slowly breathing life into roughly 50 novels and nearly as many nonfiction works, depending on which plot or character seizes her interest at any given time. Please connect with Bonita at: https://www.facebook.com/BonitaJewelAuthor

Posted on May 2, 2014, in Faith, Life Lessons, Mother's Day, Special Days, Writing Contest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

