Hiding in the Darkness

Red Laser BeamI huddled in the corner, holding my breath. A tiny red light, passed above me, slowly. It moved past once more, even more slowly.

“Not in here,” a voice called out.

“Keep looking.”

Footsteps receded. I breathed again. I was safe … for the moment. Should I stay here or make a run for it?

I heard a scream. One down. There had only been three of us. Now two. I knew her fate. I decided to stay put.

I kept my mind focused by counting to 60 and back again toward zero. At 38, I heard another shout. I cringed. Couldn’t they have lasted a little longer?

Footfalls approached. More this time. And heavier.

“She’s got to be somewhere.” The voice was strained. Impatient. I saw the glowing red on the wall to my left. It disappeared for a moment. Now it hovered above me. The approaching steps stopped, and I heard steady breathing.

“Do you see her?”

“Shh,” he answered. I held my breath once more. The light drew closer. It hit my eyes and passed on. Was it possible he didn’t see me? It passed again.

I couldn’t stand the suspense any longer. I began to laugh.

“Is that you?” my husband asked.

I stood up, still laughing.

Our children jumped up and down around  him. “You found her!” my older son called.

“Daddy couldn’t find me for a long time,” Aiden, our younger son, smiled proudly.

“It’s your turn to count, mom,” my daughter commanded.

My husband handed me the laser flashlight.

“One, two, three,” I began to count. My family members scattered.

Who said playing a game of tag with the kids can’t be a blast? Especially when it’s laser tag in the dark.

About Bonita Jewel

Bonita Jewel is an author and blogger who writes on a variety of themes, including: Literature & poetry https://danielandbonita.wordpress.com Writing https://awordfitlywritten.wordpress.com Parenting https://positiveparentingblog.wordpress.com Purpose https://apurposedlife.wordpress.com After living in India from the age of 16 to 28, she returned to California with her husband and three children. She is pursuing a Degree at Fresno State University. Bonita teaches community education at Clovis Adult. Her courses include Blogging Basics, Power Editing, Creative Writing, and Working from Home. She also freelances as an editor, ghostwriter, and writing coach. Her greatest passions are her family, her faith, writing, and reading. Bonita Jewel has been reading since she was 2 ½. Thirty years later, she still loves the magic and mystery of the written word. She is slowly breathing life into roughly 50 novels and nearly as many nonfiction works, depending on which plot or character seizes her interest at any given time. Please connect with Bonita at: https://www.facebook.com/BonitaJewelAuthor

Posted on July 30, 2014, in Priorities and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow! Great writing. Pulled me in quick and kept me guessing. I thought this was the start of a new suspense story you were writing. Nice little turn.

Leave a Reply

