Busy Being a Mom

I meant to have a whole lot more written and posted on this blog by now, but I’ve been a bit busy…

Busy being a mom.

Just a mom.

Aiden peeking out at me at a playground

Been busy chasing butterflies

Kissing “owies”

Hanging out at the library (and trying to help my kids understand that when people say ‘shh,’ they mean it)

Been busy playing shadow tag and hopscotch on warm evenings

And reminding them to please take their homemade popsicles outside so they won’t drip on the floor I just mopped

Then showing them where the rags and Windex are so they can clean up the mess they just made on that very same floor

Busy being a mom

Quizzing times tables and teaching the eleven times tables, always my favorite

Trying to explain that juice is not soda, and restraining myself from too long a monologue of what a balanced diet is

Busy finding the balance between cleaning up after them and having them do it themselves … and sometimes just leaving the house as it is

Busy being a mom

Singing along with the Veggie Tales intro, and waking up with silly songs running through my head

Busy worrying about them at times, wondering what more I can or should do to be a better parent

Praying that they will stay healthy, happy

Busy reading them stories

And hearing their own

Quoting them bedtime stories at breakfast (because I forgot the night before)

And kissing them goodnight, right before they fall asleep

And afterwards too

Busy being a mom

Brushing hair

Washing faces

Washing clothes

And wondering how it is they grow out of things so fast

Pushing swings

And standing at the foot of the slide, saying, ‘come on,’ you can do it.’

Busy holding the kite string while they run off to play with something else

Busy being a mom

Explaining concepts I doubt they’ll grasp

And hiding my surprise when they ask an even deeper question

And they understand the answer to that one too

Or offer their own answers when I say ‘I have no idea’

Busy wondering if they’ll ‘always need me for everything’

Hoping they’ll always need me for something

Thinking about my own mother and realizing children, no matter how old, do always need their parents

I enjoy writing

I love writing about and to parents

about our children and the joys of parenthood
But if ever you don’t hear from me for a while, it’s because I’m busy

Busy being a mom

…And I know you completely understandAiden on a swing

About Bonita Jewel

Bonita Jewel is an author and blogger who writes on a variety of themes, including: Literature & poetry https://danielandbonita.wordpress.com Writing https://awordfitlywritten.wordpress.com Parenting https://positiveparentingblog.wordpress.com Purpose https://apurposedlife.wordpress.com After living in India from the age of 16 to 28, she returned to California with her husband and three children. She is pursuing a Degree at Fresno State University. Bonita teaches community education at Clovis Adult. Her courses include Blogging Basics, Power Editing, Creative Writing, and Working from Home. She also freelances as an editor, ghostwriter, and writing coach. Her greatest passions are her family, her faith, writing, and reading. Bonita Jewel has been reading since she was 2 ½. Thirty years later, she still loves the magic and mystery of the written word. She is slowly breathing life into roughly 50 novels and nearly as many nonfiction works, depending on which plot or character seizes her interest at any given time. Please connect with Bonita at: https://www.facebook.com/BonitaJewelAuthor

Posted on July 23, 2015, in Attributes, Life Lessons, Paying attention, Perception and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I understand completely…similar reasons have kept me from my blog.
    I loved the catch-up storytime – kids don’t let us get away with anything, do they?

  2. beaing a Mom is being a child again, but this time with brain lol. Oh I will miss those days…

    Being a mom is tireing but the best thing that ever can happen to any one. I love being a mom

  3. love this, Bonita. I actually miss so many of those things. Life goes by too quickly. 😢❤️

Leave a Reply

